Gaming admin  

ÖFB senior squad with Demir and Kara

Franco Foda has nominated a 43-man squad for the three World Cup qualifiers against Scotland, the Faroe Islands and Denmark. Not there are Cican Stankovic and Marko Arnautovic.

Because of the travel restrictions for the Germany legionaries, the team boss had to improvise and provide additional players who can play the first match away in Scotland. The Rapid players Ercan Kara and Yusuf Demir, who are also courted by Turkey, as well as Dejan Ljubicic (Rapid), David Nemeth from Sturm Graz and, after a long break from the team, his club colleague Jakob Jantscher, were called up for the first time. The Styrian last played in an international match at the EURO 2016 finals. Another veteran is Greece legionnaire Stefan Schwab, who played his only international match so far in 2017.

Surprisingly, Cican Stankovic is missing from the list of five goalkeepers. The Red Bull Salzburg goalkeeper is only on the list. China legionnaire Marko Arnautovic is also not there, for whom departure would mean quarantine on return, as in the previous year.

The ÖFB senior squad

GOAL: Daniel Bachmann (FC Watford / ENG), Heinz Lindner (FC Basel / SUI), Pavao Pervan (VfL Wolfsburg / GER), Alexander Schlager (LASK), Jörg Siebenhandl (SK Sturm Graz).

DEFENSE: David Alaba (FC Bayern Munich / GER), Aleksandar Dragovic (Bayer 04 Leverkusen / GER), Marco Friedl (SV Werder Bremen / GER), Martin Hinteregger (Eintracht Frankfurt), Stefan Lainer (Mönchengladbach / GER), Philipp Lienhart ( Freiburg / GER), David Nemeth (SK Sturm Graz), Stefan Posch (TSG Hoffenheim / GER), Gernot Trauner (LASK), Christopher Trimmel (Union Berlin / GER), Maximilian Ullmann (SK Rapid), Andreas Ulmer (FC Red Bull Salzburg), Albert Vallci (FC Red Bull Salzburg), Philipp Wiesinger (LASK), Maximilian Wöber (FC Red Bull Salzburg).

MITTELFELD: Husein Balic (LASK), Christoph Baumgartner (Hoffenheim / GER), Yusuf Demir (SK Rapid), Thomas Goiginger (LASK), Florian Grillitsch (Hoffenheim / GER), Stefan Hierländer (SK Sturm Graz), Raphael Holzhauser (Beerschot / BEL), Stefan Ilsanker (Eintracht Frankfurt / GER), Jakob Jantscher (SK Sturm Graz), Valentino Lazaro (Mönchengladbach / GER), Dejan Ljubicic (SK Rapid), Karim Onisiwo (FSV Mainz 05 / GER), Reinhold Ranftl (LASK) , Marcel Sabitzer (RB Leipzig / GER), Louis Schaub (FC Luzern / SUI), Xaver Schlager (VfL Wolfsburg / GER), Alessandro Schöpf (FC Schalke 04 / GER), Stefan Schwab (PAOK Saloniki / GRE), Peter Zulj ( Göztepe Izmir / TUR).

STURM: Adrian Grbic (FC Lorient / FRA), Michael Gregoritsch (FC Augsburg / GER), Sasa Kalajdzic (VfB Stuttgart / GER), Ercan Kara (SK Rapid).

Leave A Comment